a little snake that taught me alot.


It’s been a great day so far. I was at home just going about my routine checks. You know those kind of checks that you go about looking for what is not lost. So here I was searching the nooks and cranny of the house.

Alas! I saw a snake! Yes, a snake. Whenever I see a snake the next thing I think about is venom…. And death! (in that order).
Fortunately for me, I was not the only one at home, my sister was also around. So I went to her and broke the news to her.

“come and see snake”, I said trying to be as confident as I could.
“where!?”, she said springing on her feet. (like she could do something about it)
“it’s in a drum (a big water container) outside”
“ehh… “, she said sounding frightened.
” me I cannot kill a snake o”, she admitted.

As a man in the house I had to do something. This wasn’t my first time of seeing a snake, and it wasn’t my first time of killing one either. But I started some series of strategic thinking and strategic planning. (funny how a snake can bring out the “genius” in you).

It was pretty obvious that there was no help my sister could render to this process at hand. I had to work it out on my own. And thanks to Animal planet, I saw a clip where a big snake curled round a human. That scene made things worse for me. I was on my own. It was me versus the snake.

This particular drum had water in it, though it was about one-sixth in volume, but I knew water couldn’t impede the movement of a snake. However, that water was a barrier to me killing the snake. If it was on concrete ground, the snake would stand no chance with me. But here it was with lots of accumulated strains to my victory. I didn’t know what to do.

I kept thinking, “two are better than one”, with this I tried to challenge my sister to summon up courage but all proved to no use. So I knew “if I don’t take care of it… Who will?”. (you cannot imagine the series of thoughts that flooded my mind… Both useful and lame thoughts)

A day passed, and I had not made a decision. The snake was still in the drum. It was actually drinking the water to sustain itself. (what a smart fellow). I thought I would leave it to starve to death but the next day I looked into the drum, I saw the water level had reduced and the snake skin looking fresh and smooth. No one had to tell me to scrap that ‘starvation strategy’.

I waited the second day thinking and thinking of what to do. I actually had lots of thoughts but I guess my fears were clouding my faith. (imagine! Me, an iMentor for that matter, what do I want to tell my mentees? This shouldn’t be heard.)

On the third day, I couldn’t hold it anymore. I checked the drum to make sure the snake was still in there. (You guessed it), it was still there. I had to make a move, I had to take action. Imagine me preaching and campaigning #iAmaNationBuilder when a Lil snake is stopping me from taking action.

Finally, I had a strategy, I would pour some hot water on the snake to stun it or put it off balance. This is called “the element of surprise” in warfare terms. So I would use this surprise tactic to attack the snake. So with the snake ‘dancing’ to the pain of hot water touching its skin, I would commence an ‘all out attack’. I would start pounding the drum and everything in it, hoping to get the snake in the process.

I got the water boiling, the hard wood ready, all my battle weapons were ready. I tiptoed to the drum, with a bowl of hot water on one hand and a stick on the other. I poured the water on the snake (aiming its head). It started racing randomly inside the drum. I kept pouring the hot water with the intent of aiming at the head. When I was out of hot water, I started aiming for the head with the stick. My first strike was impressive, I got the neck of the snake near its head. It’s speed reduced greatly. This gave me the confidence to continue hitting until the snake sank into the water.

I paused,… Waited… Starring at the quasi-still water. I thought the snake wanted to turn the tables by springing out of the water with one last venomous strike. I wasn’t ready for its element of surprise. After a little moment, I was sure there was no movement. I took the stick, dipped it into the water and voila!! I brought out the snake. It was dead!!

I took it out, laid it on the concrete and burnt it. I was the winner, the Victor! My strategic thinking paid off and now I can tell the world I won!

This little snake taught me alot. A times you need to take some risks. In reality, things don’t always go according to your plans but you need to be fast enough to improvise and keep things in track. And lest I forget, some people you think will help you may actually disappoint you, so don’t always bank on people.

Do learn from my experience. We will all face it someday. It may not be a snake for everyone, but it’s going to be something. Lots of consequences could arise from failing but you need to know how to plan for success.

Till you hear from me again, keep on working, keep on thinking and keep on winning.

Yours,
Harkheindzel Kenny O.

Leave a Reply

